Jeremy Martin - News Article
' Include File created by Carl Hein to easily modify back ground images and colors. New Page 1


Jeremy Martin > News

8/16/2014 - Jeremy Martin Clinches 250 Class Championship in Moto 1 at Indiana


With three motos left in the season, Jeremy Martin has officially secured the 250 Class championship with a second-place finish in the opening moto in Indiana.


The moto victory went to Jessy Nelson, who earned his first career win.


Nelson grabbed the Holeshot Award for the second time this year, with Jeremy Martin and Zach Bell in tow. Nelson has surprisingly struggled with his starts this year, but the last time he grabbed a holeshot, he went on to finish in second place. This time he was able to hold off Martin to score the win.


Martin kept pace with Nelson throughout the first half of the moto and was very close at times, but he never got in position to make the pass. As the countdown clock got under ten minutes, Martin finally settled into the second-place position and allowed Nelson to open up a slight gap.


Although he didn’t grab the win, a second-place finish was more than enough for Martin to officially clinch the 2014 championship. With their title hopes hanging by a thread entering the day, Cooper Webb finished sixth, while Blake Baggett – who was forced to make a stop in the FRAM Mechanic’s Row at one point – finished way back in 14th and was lapped by Martin.


Martin - who will receive the #1 championship plate after the conclusion of the second moto today - was excited by all the fan support he received today.


"It’s an amazing feeling," he said, "I heard the fans cheering me on the whole time out there, and that was the motivation I needed. You guys [the fans] have been cheering me on all year, and you don’t know how much that means to me."

"[The team] pushed me hard all year. I can’t believe I’m the champion – it’s kind of like 'pinch me.'"


"It’s been awhile since I’ve been on the podium, and it’s been a long road getting to this win, so I can’t thank the team enough,” Nelson said afterwards.


Indiana 250 Moto 1 Results
Jessy Nelson
Jeremy Martin
3. Marvin Musquin
4. Joey Savatgy
5. Jason Anderson
6. Cooper Webb
7. Alex Martin
8. Dean Wilson
9. Christophe Pourcel
10. Cole Seely
Nick Gaines
12. Justin Bogle
13. Cole Martinez
14. Blake Baggett
15. Shane McElrath
16. Chris Alldredge
17. Mike Stender
18. Dakota Alix
Jimmy Decotis
20. Dakota Kessler



Click here to a full list of articles.