Jeremy Martin - News Article
' Include File created by Carl Hein to easily modify back ground images and colors. New Page 1


Jeremy Martin > News

7/6/2014 - Jeremy Martin Wins Red Bud!


BUCHANAN, Mich. (July 5, 2014) - The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, reached its halfway point on Saturday with the annual Independence Day tradition at the Red Bull RedBud National. The points leader emerged victorious in the 250 Class, as Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha's Jeremy Martin captured his third win of the season.

The competition in the 250 Class coming into RedBud was closer than it had been all season as the Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha tandem of Jeremy Martin and Cooper Webb, along with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Baggett were separated by a total of 17 points. Martin and Baggett each had two wins apiece, while Webb broke through for his first career win last weekend.

As the gate dropped on the first moto, GEICO Honda's Matt Bisceglia raced to the Holeshot Award with Valli Motosports Yamaha's Christophe Pourcel and Martin in tow. Pourcel took over the top spot by Lap 2, bringing Martin with him. The pair engaged in an exciting battle for the position before Pourcel made an uncharacteristic mistake and crashed on Lap 4, allowing Martin to take the lead and GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle to move into second. Looming in third was Baggett, who moved into the runner-up spot on Lap 7 and set his sights on Martin.

A seesaw battle out front ensued with the deficit between the two riders constantly changing. Baggett kept the pressure on Martin throughout the remainder of the moto, but the points leader never faltered. Martin crossed the line just over a second ahead of Baggett. Rockstar Energy Racing's Jason Anderson jumped into third, with Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin in fourth. Bogle fell to fifth.

With all eyes on the second moto, it was Rockstar Energy Racing's Joey Savatgy who gained the early jump by grabbing the Holeshot Award. Bogle started the moto in second and made an early move on Savatgy to take over the lead by Lap 2. Martin followed the Honda rider into second after a third-place start, bringing his teammate Webb along in third. Soon these three riders did battle for the lead, swapping positions briefly and using every inch of the track. Bogle made a major mistake on Lap 4, crashing out of the lead. Webb had slipped by his teammate just prior and assumed control of the moto. The sophomore teammates went all out for the rest of the moto, separated by mere bike lengths throughout.

As the battle for the win continued, Musquin and Anderson once again made their presence felt in a fight for third. Baggett made an impressive climb from a 13th-place start to also factor into the mix in fifth, but crashed on Lap 10, dropping out of podium contention. Out front, Webb fended off his teammate to take the second moto win of his career and bounce back from a crash in the opening moto that relegated him to a 14th-place result. Martin followed in second, with Musquin third and Anderson fourth.

Martin's 1-2 moto scores secured the overall win while Musquin earned his best result of the season in second (4-3). Anderson completed the overall podium in third (3-4). Baggett finished fourth (2-7) with Webb rounding out the top five (14-1).

"It was a great battle with my teammate there," said Martin. "I thought I had a chance to get the lead early against [Justin] Bogle, but he was riding defensive and eventually went down. Once I got in behind Cooper [Webb] I just paced myself and put in a push on the final laps to try and pass him, but I didn't want to do anything to put either of us in a bad spot, especially since I knew I had the overall."

Martin extended his lead in the 250 Class standings back into the double digits over Webb, with 23 points now separating the two. Baggett sits third, 28 points back.

The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship continues next weekend with the seventh round of the 2014 season at the GEICO Motorcycles Budds Creek National. Budds Creek MX Park in Mechanicsville, Maryland, will host the world's best riders on Saturday, July 12. Action begins at 1 p.m. ET.


Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

Red Bull RedBud National

RedBud MX - Buchanan, Michigan

July 5, 2014

Round 6 of 12

250 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha (1-2)

2. Marvin Musquin, France, KTM (4-3)

3. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., KTM (3-4)

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (2-7)

5. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha (14-1)

6. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (9-5)

7. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda (8-6)

8. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha (6-9)

9. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda (5-12)

10. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki (10-8)

250 Class Championship Standings

1. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 250

2. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 227

3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 222

4. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 191

5. Marvin Musquin, France, KTM, 181

6. Christophe Pourcel, France, Yamaha, 176

7. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., KTM, 167

8. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda, 143

9. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 127

10. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda, 125


Click here to a full list of articles.